Georgia Phone Number Lookup

Georgia Area Codes and their Locations

Area codes define particular regions and geographical areas in the State of Georgia. The first three digits of every phone number typically represent the area code of the caller’s residence. Learning about Georgia area codes and their corresponding locations may help in sifting out and avoiding calls from potentially fraudulent actors. Georgia residents can also use reverse phone lookup tools to identify unknown callers.

Below is a full list of area codes for the state  and their locations in Georgia:

229 - Location
404 - Location
470 - Location
478 - Location
678 - Location
706 - Location
762 - Location
770 - Location
912 - Location

Who Controls Georgia Area Codes?

The FCC assigned the Georgia Public Service  Commission (PSC) to conserve area codes and authorize the issuance of new area codes in the state. The office also notifies residents of new area codes mapped out for specific areas in the state.

Where is Area Code 229?

Area code 229 covers some metro areas including Albany, Valdosta, Thomasville, Tifton, Americus, Fitzgerald, and Cordele. Counties in these areas include Berrien, Brooks, Cook, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Lanier, Lowndes, Mitchell, Sumpter, Telfair, and Turner counties.

Where is Area Code 404?

Georgia area code 404 spreads across portions of the metro Atlanta region and its surrounding suburbs. Top counties served by this area code include Fulton, Dekalb, Clayton, and parts of Cobb, Douglas, and Gwinnett counties. Some popular cities using the 404 area code include Atlanta, Candler-McAfee, College Park, Conley, Decatur, East Point, Forest Park, Red Oak, Sandy Springs, Stone Mountain, and Tucker cities.

Where is Area Code 470?

Area code 470 also serves parts of the metro Atlanta region, Sandy Springs, and Marietta. Counties served include parts of Bartow, Barrow, Butts, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Dekalb, Dawson,  Douglas, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Jasper, Lamar, Meriwether, Newton, Oconee, Paulding, Rockdale, Spalding, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, and Walton counties.

Where is Area Code 478?

Georgia’s area code 478 serves multiple counties in Macon and Central Georgia including Baldwin, Bleckley, Bibb, Burke, Crawford, Dodge, Dooly, Emanuel, Houston, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, Macon, Monroe, Peach, Pulaski, Taylor, Washington, and Wilkinson counties.

Where is Area Code 678?

Area code 678 serves several counties in the metro Atlanta Region in conjunction with area codes 470, 404, and 770.

Where are Area Codes 762 and 706?

Area codes 762 and 706  spread across parts of northern and west-central Georgia outside the Metro Atlanta region including the cities of Athens, Augusta, and Columbus. Top counties in this region are Muscogee, Jackson, Whitfield, Gordon, Columbia, Habersham, Floyd, Richmond, Clarke, and Upson counties.

Where is Area Code 770?

Area code 770 also covers parts of Athens, Columbus, Cornelia, Augusta, LaGrange, Rome, Toccoa, and Dalton cities.

Where is Area Code 912?

Georgia area code 912 is used by landline and cellphone customers in the southeastern part of Georgia. Popular cities in this area include Savannah, Brunswick, Douglas, Fort Stewart, Hinesville, Jesup, Kingsland, Waycross, Pooler, Statesboro, and Vidalia.